CLT10 Update—
State-by-State Testing Requirements

By Noah Tyler

The CLT10 is nationally norm referenced, and has been recognized by fifteen states.

The CLT breaks the mold of the boring, often slanted texts used by rival exams. Our flagship test competes with the SAT and ACT, and is accepted at nearly two hundred colleges and universities across the country.

For homeschool families, standardized testing can also provide a useful metric of progress; end-of-grade evaluations are required by law for homeschoolers in twenty-three states. This year, we have worked hard to obtain national norm referencing for the CLT10, our test designed for 9th and 10th grade students. This helps homeschool students by providing an exam more aligned with their curriculum than with Common Core, and which can be taken from the comfort of home.

The CLT10 now fulfills end-of-grade testing requirements in these states:

  • Colorado
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Maine
  • New Hampshire
  • North Carolina
  • Ohio
  • South Dakota
  • Virginia

In the following states, the CLT10 is sufficient for end-of-grade testing under special circumstances:

  • Florida
  • Massachusetts
  • Minnesota
  • North Dakota
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee

In these states, the CLT10 does not currently meet testing requirements:

  • Iowa
  • Louisiana
  • New York
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Vermont
  • Washington
  • West Virginia

The remaining twenty-seven states do not have legal testing requirements for homeschool families. Always consult your local school district for any further information.

Noah Tyler is an alumnus of Grove City College, one of CLT’s partner colleges. He serves as the Chief Financial Officer for CLT and also handles legislative issues related to educational testing. He lives in Baltimore with his wife and three children.

Published on 20th May, 2020.

Share this post:
Scroll to Top