An Update for Homeschoolers!—CLT8 Norm Referencing

Since our founding in 2015, the Classic Learning Test has been breaking the mold for standardized testing by using beautiful, profound texts to teach our students. Many homeschoolers have been particularly drawn to the CLT suite of exams, in contrast to the dull and sometimes slanted texts offered by mainstream tests. The CLT8, our exam for seventh and eighth graders, is no exception—and it just got a little more useful for homeschool families!

Twenty-three states legally require homeschoolers to provide some type of academic report, such as a standardized test or work portfolio, typically on a yearly basis. We are proud to announce that, thanks to the hard work our team has done in norm referencing the CLT8, it now meets testing standards in almost every state!

Specifically, the CLT8 fulfills yearly testing requirements in the following states:

  • Colorado
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Maine
  • New Hampshire
  • North Carolina
  • Ohio
  • South Dakota
  • Virginia

Additionally, the CLT8 is accepted in the following states under certain circumstances:

  • Florida
  • Louisiana
  • Massachusetts
  • Minnesota
  • North Dakota
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • West Virginia

Subscribe to our newsletter on the front page of the Journal to get regular updates, as we continue to change the face of American education!

This information was correct at time of publication, but this list is not dynamic. Check with your local school district to confirm any possible changes.

Published 1st March, 2022.

Share this post:
Scroll to Top